Arjan Paans

Arjan Paans ist Chefredakteur von Innovation Origins DE. Von 2003 bis 2008 lebte er als Deutschland-Korrespondent in Berlin und hat danach in leitenden Positionen bei mehreren niederländischen Tageszeitungen gearbeitet. Arjan ist verheiratet und hat einen Sohn.

Sie entscheiden: Wer wird unser Start-up of The Month im März?

Selbst während dieses ersten (und vermutlich nicht letzten) Korona-Krisenmonats hat Innovation Origins an jedem Werktag einen „Start-up of the Day” vorgestellt. Da sich echte Innovation nicht von solchen Widrigkeiten bremsen lässt, haben wir wieder vier Wochengewinner ausgewählt, und jetzt...

Sie entscheiden: Wer wird unser Start-up of the Month?

Nun, der kürzeste Monat des Jahres ist vorbei. Und was für schöne Start-ups wir hatten! Aus den zwanzig coolen Startern wählten die Redakteure vier Wochensieger, aus denen Sie nun den Monatssieger auswählen können. Und später in diesem Jahr (Trommelwirbel)… aber das wird noch eine Weile...

Start-up of the Month: Vom dreckigen Diesel bis zum flexiblen Hybrid

Der Februar ist bereits in vollem Gange. Aber bei IO blicken wir nochmal kurz auf Januar zurück. Wir sind Ihnen nämlich noch ein Start-up of the Month schuldig! Jeden Werktag verfolgen Sie auf dieser Nachrichtenseite Pioniere aus ganz Europa, die versuchen, mit Innovationsfieber die...

Aafke radelt für Innovation Origins die europäische Westküste entlang

Jeder kennt die amerikanische Westküste als den Ort, von dem Innovationen kommen. Aber was ist mit der europäischen Westküste? Aafke Eppinga macht sich auf eine fünfmonatige Radtour, um dies zu entdecken, und plant, auf dem Weg einige sehr interessante Start-ups zu besuchen. Sie können ihr bald...

Sie entscheiden: Wer wird unser Start-up of The Month im Januar?

Finden Sie auch, dass der Januar die härteste Zeit des Jahres ist? Wenigstens ist er jetzt vorbei. Wir können also mit unserem Wettbewerb „Start-up des Monats” weitermachen. An jedem Werktag wählt Innovation Origins ein europäisches Start-up of The Day aus, und jede Woche wählen wir einen...

Start-up of the Month: Erkennung von Tumoren mit Sensoren

Der Januar ist bereits in vollem Gange. Aber bei der IO blicken wir noch einmal auf den Dezember zurück. Wir sind Ihnen noch das Start-up des Monats schuldig! Bei IO lesen Sie an jedem Arbeitstag über Pioniere, die versuchen, die unerforschte Welt der Zukunftsmusik und Science Fiction mit einem...

Start-up of The Day: Gehörschutz als modisches Accessoire

Auf Konzerten oder Festivals sieht man es immer öfter: Menschen, die einen Gehörschutz tragen, um Gehörschäden zu vermeiden. Im Allgemeinen sehen die nicht sehr schön aus, sind aber dennoch wichtig, da man sich sehr leicht einen Tinnitus einfängt. Das belgische Start-up Loop hat ein neues...

Wählen Sie mit! Wer wird das neue Start-up des Monats?

Es sind also alle aus den Weihnachtsferien zurück? Dann können wir wieder mit unserem Wettbewerb ‘Start-up of the Month’ beginnen. Jeden Werktag wählt Innovation Origins ein europäisches Start-up of the Day aus und jede Woche wählen wir einen Wochensieger.  Zu Beginn des neuen Monats...

Start-up of The Day: Dank Toogethr werden Fahrgemeinschaften attraktiver

Toogethr ist ein schnell wachsendes Start-up aus Utrecht. Es bietet intelligente Technologie für Fahrgemeinschaften und Parken auf dem Geschäftskundenmarkt an und will mit einer Investition von AutoBinck im restlichen Europa Fuß fassen. Toogethr nutzt Algorithmen, um Kollegen, die unterwegs sind,...

Start-up of The Month: Mit KI zum Kundenservice der Zukunft

An jedem Arbeitstag wählen wir ein europäisches Start-up of The Day und jede Woche wählen wir einen Wochensieger. Zu Beginn des neuen Monats können die Leser entscheiden, wer mit dem Start-up of The Month ausgezeichnet wird. In den letzten Monaten kamen die Gewinner aus ganz Europa. Im Juni aus...

Innovationen in Frankreich so schnell wie ein Zug am Bahnhof F

Der weltweit größte Start-up-Campus befindet sich in einem ehemaligen Bahnhof im Herzen von Paris. Mit tausend angehenden Unternehmern auf 34.000 Quadratmetern Nutzfläche setzt sich Frankreich als eines der innovativsten Länder der Welt durch. Ein prestigeträchtiges Projekt, bei dem sich alles um...

Am Meisten Gelesen Diese Woche: Dutch mountains und Sh*tty scooters

Die Landreservation der Gemeinde Eindhoven und der Projektentwickler für das spektakuläre Architekturprojekt Dutch Mountains zogen in dieser Woche die meisten Besucher zu Innovation Origins. Dass die 155 Meter hohe “Hightech-Visitenkarte” nicht nur Fans hat, war bekannt. Dennoch ist...

5 Gründe, warum Israel ein so Erfolgreiches Innovationsland ist

Kein Land der Welt hat mehr High-Tech Startups pro Kopf als Israel. In der Woche des Eurovision Song Contest widmet sich Innovation Origins in einer kurzen Serie der Startup Nation. Heute: 5 Gründe, warum Israel ein so erfolgreiches Innovationsland ist. Innovations-Attaché Racheli Kreisberg der...

Startups als „Lösung” für den israelisch-palästinensischen Konflikt

In keinem Land der Welt gibt es pro Kopf mehr High-Tech-Gründungen als in Israel. In der Woche des Eurovision Song Contest widmet sich Innovation Origins in einer kurzen Serie dieser Nation der Startups. Heute: Was können die Niederlande (und Deutschland) von Israel lernen? Peter Ester, Soziologe...

Speed Dating in Tel Aviv, der Startup-Hauptstadt der Welt

In keinem Land der Welt gibt es pro Kopf mehr High-Tech-Gründungen als in Israel. In der Woche des Eurovision Song Contest widmet sich Innovation Origins in einer kurzen Serie dieser Nation der Startups. Heute: Speed Dating in Tel Aviv. Draußen auf der Straße fahren Millenials auf Elektrorollern...

Langlebigkeit und Sicherheit: Brennende Probleme bei Batterien

Mit zunehmender Popularität von Elektroautos steigt auch die Anzahl der dafür benötigten Batterien. Das stellt nicht nur die Industrie, sondern auch die Lager- und Recyclingunternehmen vor neue Herausforderungen. Am zweiten Battery Day, der auf dem Automotive Campus Helmond (Niederlande)...

100 Jahre Bauhaus – eine deutsch-niederländische Koproduktion

Vor hundert Jahren entstand die Bauhaus-Architekturbewegung in Deutschland. Bis zur Machtübernahme durch die Nazis (und auch danach) sollte der unternehmerische, innovative Baustil einen großen Einfluss auf Architekten auf der ganzen Welt haben. Ein wichtiger Faktor für den Erfolg des Bauhauses...

Verpassen Sie nichts!

Jede Woche sammeln wir die besten Geschichten über Innovation speziell für Sie!
Melden Sie sich jetzt für unseren Newsletter an, damit Sie nie wieder etwas verpassen.

Who should be our Start-up of the Month?

Meld je aan om op de hoogte te blijven van al het nieuws over innovatie!

Elke week verzamelen we speciaal voor jou de beste verhalen over innovatie!
Geef je nu op voor onze nieuwsbrief, zodat je nooit meer iets mist.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Arjan Paans

Arjan Paans is editor-in-chief of Innovation Origins DE. Between 2003 and 2008 he worked in Berlin as a foreign correspondent. Aftewards he was a news manager for several Dutch newspapers. Arjan is married and has one son.

The choice is yours: who will be the new Start-up of the Month?

Even during this first (and presumably not last) corona crisis month, Innovation Origins has presented a Start-up of the Day each workday. Since real innovation doesn’t allow itself to be slowed down by adversity like this, we have once again chosen four weekly winners and now it’s...

You decide: who will be our Start-up of the Month?

So, the shortest month of the year has come and gone. And what wonderful start-ups we have had. The editors chose four week winners from the twenty cool startups, out of which you may now select the winner of the month. And later this year (drum roll) … but that won’t be for a while....

Start-up of the Month: from dirty diesel to flexible hybrid

February is already in full swing. But at IO we’re taking a moment to look back on January. We still owe you a Start-up of the Month! Each workday on IO you get to follow the pioneers who’ve got innovation fever and are striving to bring the unexplored world of tomorrow and science...

You decide: Who will be our Start-up of the Month?

Do you also find January the toughest time of the year? At least we’re over and done with it now. So we can get on with our latest Start-up of the Month competition. Each workday Innovation Origins selects a European Start-up of the Day and each week we choose a weekly winner. At the...

Start-up of the Day: Hearing protection as a fashion statement

You see them more and more often at concerts or festivals: people who wear ear protection to prevent damage to their hearing. Generally not a thing of beauty, but important all the same, seeing that tinnitus is so easily contracted. The Belgian start-up Loop came up with a new hearing protection...

Start-up of the Month: Detect cancer with sensors

January is already in full swing. But at IO we’re taking a moment to look back on December. We still owe you a Start-up of the Month! Each workday you get to follow on IO the pioneers who’ve got innovation fever and are striving to bring the unexplored world of tomorrow and science...

Cast your vote! Who will be the new Start-up of the Month?

So, everyone back from their Christmas break? Then we can start our Start-up of the Month contest all over again! Each workday Innovation Origins selects a European Start-up of the Day and each week we choose a weekly winner. At the beginning of each new month, readers can decide who gets to be...

Start-up of the Day: Carpooling has more appeal thanks to Toogethr

Toogethr, a fast-growing Utrecht start-up that offers smart technology on the commercial market for carpooling and parking, aims to spread its wings to the rest of Europe with an investment from AutoBinck. Toogethr uses algorithms to link colleagues who are on the move with each other and make it...

Start-up of the Month: towards the customer service of the future with AI

Every working day we select a European start-up of the day and each week we choose a weekly winner. At the beginning of the new month, readers can decide who will be awarded the Start-up of the Month. In recent months, the winners have come from all over Europe. In June from Italy, in July from...

France is innovating as fast as a train at Station F

The world’s largest start-up campus is located at a former train station in the heart of Paris. With a thousand budding entrepreneurs on 34,000 m2 of floor space, France is putting itself on the map as one of the most innovative countries in the world. A prestigious project where everything...

Best read: great, those electrical buses, but a power cut is on its way

Good news in a week when air quality is not that doing that well due to the forest fires in the Amazon. Within five years, Dutch public transport companies expect to have 75 percent of their buses running on electricity. This was the best read story on Innovation Origins this past week. The great...

Best read: after Tesla comes Tessie

June is drawing to a close, so it is time for the first monthly overview of the ‘Best read’ series. Surprisingly, the most read topic was not mobility, but gender. The stories about TU Eindhoven’s measure to hire only women for six months from 1 July attracted most readers both...

Most read this week: Dutch mountains and Sh*tty scooters

The reservation of land by the municipality of Eindhoven and the project developer for the spectacular Dutch Mountains architecture project attracted the most visitors to Innovation Origins this week. That the 155-metre-high ‘high-tech calling card’ does not have just fans was well...

5 Reasons, why Israel is Such a Successful Innovation Country

No country in the world has more high-tech start-ups per capita than Israel. In the week of the Eurovision Song Contest, Innovation Origins dedicates a short series to the Startup Nation. Today: 5 reasons why Israel is such a successful innovation country. Innovation Attaché Racheli Kreisberg of...

Start-ups as ‘solution’ to Israeli-Palestinian conflict

No country in the world has more high-tech start-ups per capita than Israel. In the week of the Eurovision Song Contest, Innovation Origins pays attention to this startup nation in a short series. Today: what can the Netherlands learn from Israel? Peter Ester, sociologist and economist and Member...

Speed dating in Tel Aviv, the start-up capital of the world

No country in the world has more high-tech start-ups per capita than Israel. In the week of the Eurovision Song Contest, Innovation Origins pays attention to this startup nation in a short series. Today: speed dating in Tel Aviv. Elektrical scooters – here one of Lime – determine the streetscape...

Don’t miss a thing!

Every week we collect the best stories about innovation especially for you!
Sign up for our newsletter now, so you’ll never miss anything again.

Who should be our Start-up of the Month?
  • Secret City Trails 72%, 50 votes
    50 votes 72%
    50 votes - 72% of all votes
  • Fundsup 16%, 11 votes
    11 votes 16%
    11 votes - 16% of all votes
  • ISAAC 9%, 6 votes
    6 votes 9%
    6 votes - 9% of all votes
  • Monobase 3%, 2 votes
    2 votes 3%
    2 votes - 3% of all votes
Total Votes: 69
30 March 2020 - 4 April 2020
Voting is closed

Subscribe for a weekly dose of innovation!

If you want to be kept up-to-date on European innovation, all you have to do is subscribe to our newsletter! You get a weekly summary of the best stories on innovation in your mailbox!

You have Successfully Subscribed!